Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO)



The Convention on International Civil Aviation, which each ICAO Contracting State is a party to, was drafted during a convention in Chicago in November and December 1944. The Chicago Convention is another name for this convention). In October 1947, the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) was designated as a specialized agency of the newly formed United Nations. The Chicago Convention established the ICAO’s mission:

“WHEREAS, while the future development of international civil aviation can greatly aid in the creation and preservation of friendship and understanding among the world’s nations and peoples, its misuse can pose a threat to global security; and WHEREAS, it is desirable to avoid friction and to promote the co-operation between nations and peoples on which the world’s peace depends; and WHEREAS, it is desirable to avoid friction and to promote the co-operation between nations and peoples on which the world’s peace depends;

THEREFORE, the undersigned governments have agreed on certain principles and arrangements in order for international civil aviation to develop in a safe and orderly manner, and international air transport services to be established on the basis of equal opportunity and operated soundly and economically;”

There are now 191 countries that make up the EU.

How ICAO Works

The following description is given by ICAO itself:

“According to the terms of the Convention, the Organization is made up of an Assembly, a Council of limited membership with various subordinate bodies and a Secretariat. The Chief Officers are the President of the Council and the Secretary General.

The Assembly, composed of representatives from all Contracting States, is the sovereign body of ICAO. It meets every three years, reviewing in detail the work of the Organization and setting policy for the coming years. It also votes a triennial budget.

The Council, the governing body which is elected by the Assembly for a three-year term, is composed of 36 States. The Assembly chooses the Council Member States under three headings: States of chief importance in air transport, States which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for air navigation, and States whose designation will ensure that all major areas of the world are represented. As the governing body, the Council gives continuing direction to the work of ICAO. It is in the Council that Standards and Recommended Practices are adopted and incorporated as Annexes to the Convention on International Civil Aviation. The Council is assisted by the Air Navigation Commission (technical matters), the Air Transport Committee (economic matters), the Committee on Joint Support of Air Navigation Services and the Finance Committee.

The Secretariat, headed by a Secretary General, is divided into five main divisions: the Air Navigation Bureau, the Air Transport Bureau, the Technical Co-operation Bureau, the Legal Bureau, and the Bureau of Administration and Services. In order that the work of the Secretariat shall reflect a truly international approach, professional personnel are recruited on a broad geographical basis.

ICAO works in close co-operation with other members of the United Nations family such as the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), the Universal Postal Union, the World Health Organization (WHO) and the International Maritime Organization (IMO). Non-governmental organisations which also participate in ICAO’s work include the International Air Transport Association International Air Transport Association (IATA), the Airports Council International (ACI), the International Federation of Air Line Pilots’ Associations International Federation of AirLine Pilots Associations (IFALPA), and the International Council of Aircraft Owner and Pilot Associations (IAOPA).”

ICAO is responsible for:

  • Safety
  • Registration
  • Airworthiness
  • Prevention of economic waste
  • Fair competition
  • Standardization
  • Aviation Law

Sky Training Aviation and AFSAC Center TRAINAIR PLUS FULL MEMBER GAT / ICAO are able to provide training of excellence, to cover all the standards and requirements of the ICAO object of the 19 annexes to the Chicago Convention, to all aeronautical players, in our own premises and / or on site, certified by certificates issued by the ICAO.

You feel involved in this field and wish to work there, Sky Training Aviation and AFSAC Center AVSEC / OACI, offers you “Qualifying” and “Certifying” training in order to become an expert in Civil Aviation Security in accordance with standards International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) in Algeria

Get in touch
with us

Working hours:Saturday — Thursday: 8:30 h - 16:30 h


City Ain Abdallah , Résidence Djurdjura.service floor N°02, BOUMERDES.

Sky training aviation  is one of the biggest Algerian aviation school, where the experience is wrapped up in personal care about each student.

Contact Info

 Call Us +213 770 419 315

 City Ain Abdallah Residance Djurdjura, Boumerdes, Algeria

Make your dream become true with Sky Training Aviation
New sessions are open DON'T MISS OUT!