Skip to content Skip to footer

International Civil Aviation Organisation

International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO)

About ICAO

The International Civil Aviation Organization Meeting, to which every ICAO Contracting State is a party, was drafted during a convention in Chicago in November and December 1944. This meeting is also known as the Chicago Convention. ICAO was established in October 1947 as a specialized agency of the newly founded United Nations. The ICAO’s mission was established by the Chicago Convention:

“WHEREAS, while the future development of international civil aviation can greatly aid in the creation and preservation of friendship and understanding among the world’s nations and peoples, its misuse can pose a threat to global security; and WHEREAS, it is desirable to avoid friction and to promote the co-operation between nations and peoples on which the world’s peace depends. 

THEREFORE, the undersigned governments have agreed on certain principles and arrangements to ensure that the international civil aviation organisation develops in a safe and orderly manner, and that international air transport services are established on the basis of equal opportunity and run soundly and economically;”

The EU today consists of 191 member nations.

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) logo
International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)
International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)

ICAO Features

The ICAO provides the following description:

“The Organization is made up of an Assembly, a Council of restricted membership with several subordinate bodies, and a Secretariat, according to the stipulations of the Convention.” The President of the Council and the Secretary General are the Chief Officers.

ICAO’s sovereign body is the Assembly, which is made up of members from all Contracting States. It meets every three years to assess the Organization’s operations in depth and to formulate policy for the following years. It also approves the triennial budget.

The Council, the government agency, is comprised of 36 States and is chosen by the Assembly for a three-year term. The Assembly selects Council Member States based on three criteria: states of primary significance in air transport, states that make the greatest contribution to the provision of air navigation infrastructure, and states whose designation will guarantee that all important areas of the globe are represented. The Council, as the governing body, provides ongoing guidance to ICAO’s activity. Standards and Recommended Practices are accepted and included as Annexes to the Convention on International Civil Aviation by the Council. The Air Navigation Commission (for technical problems) and the Air Transport Committee support the Council (economic matters), the Committee on Joint Support the Finance Committee and  Air Navigation Services,

The Secretariat is organized into five primary sections, each led by a Secretary General: the Air Navigation Bureau, the Air Transport Bureau, the Technical Cooperation Bureau, the Legal Bureau, and the Bureau of Administration and Services. Professional employees are recruited from all over the world to ensure that the Secretariat’s work reflects a truly multinational perspective.

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) collaborates closely with other United Nations family members such as the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), the Universal Postal Union, the World Health Organization (WHO), and the International Maritime Organization (IMO). The International Air Transport Association International Air Transport Association (IATA), the Airports Council International (ACI), the International Federation of Air Line Pilots’ Associations International Federation of AirLine Pilots Associations (IFALPA), and the International Council of Aircraft Owner and Pilot Associations (IAOPA) are among the non-governmental organizations that contribute to ICAO’s work.”

ICAO Responsibilities

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) creates aviation regulations to ensure safety, security, efficiency, and consistency, as well as environmental preservation. In the sphere of aviation technology, the organization also oversees operating standards and procedures.




Prevention of economic waste

Fair competition


Aviation Law

International Civil Aviation Organization

Sky Training Aviation and AFSAC Center TRAINAIR PLUS FULL MEMBER GAT / ICAO are able to provide training of excellence, to cover all the standards and requirements of the ICAO object of the 19 annexes to the Chicago Convention, to all aeronautical players, in our own premises and / or on site, certified by certificates issued by the ICAO.

You feel involved in this field and wish to work there, Sky Training Aviation and AFSAC Center AVSEC / OACI, offers you “Qualifying” and “Certifying” training in order to become an expert in Civil Aviation Security in accordance with standards International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) in Algeria

Civil aviation

Get in touch
with us

Working hours:Saturday — Thursday: 8:30 h - 16:30 h


City Ain Abdallah , Résidence Djurdjura.service floor N°02, BOUMERDES.

Sky training aviation  is one of the biggest Algerian aviation school, where the experience is wrapped up in personal care about each student.

Contact Info

 Call Us +213 770 419 315/28

 City Ain Abdallah Residance Djurdjura, Boumerdes, Algeria

Sky Training Aviation © 2022 All Rights Reserved

Sky Training Aviation © 2020-2022. All Rights Reserved.

Make your dream become true with Sky Training Aviation
Special offers DON'T MISS OUT!